Moving out, moving in

We have come to the end of yet another lease. Our plan was to stay at our current place for as long as we could, but God has a way of working things out differently. Sometimes, or actually a lot of the time, I question why things just can’t work out the way I want them to. Ideal situations are rare, but I strongly believe that ideal situations are for the most part useless. They don’t do much for our character…let me stop right here before I go any further with this. The point of this post is not to bash on perfect turnouts rather how I am surviving a move with an almost-completely-mobile baby, having had little to no time to pack anything because both my fiancé and I have full-time jobs, and moving in record-breaking summer weather.

The most important thing to do when approaching a move is – reach out for help. My goodness is this important! I’m sure you will get many “I can’ts”, but it’s better to ask and get those few very crucial “yes’s” than to not ask because you are afraid to bother family/friends with your request. We are extremely blessed to have amazing family and friends who so willingly sacrificed a weekend to help my little family move clear across the San Fernando Valley.

My mom watched the little Nugget all day yesterday. All day! I got a call from her at 8:30 pm, “Mi hija, ya mero terminan? El niño está insoportable. Yo pienso que ya la quiere mirar.” Translation: “Daughter, are you almost done for the night? The child has become unbearable. I think he wants to see you already.” Talk about an incentive to finish faster. I picked him up at around 10:30 pm. I was definitely having little Nugget withdrawals! Thank God for my mother because without her I wouldn’t have been any help to the move process yesterday.

My brother-in-law took the Amtrak from Anaheim to Chatsworth to help us. He is lucky enough to have been voluntold to help. The fact that he is on summer vacation works out in our favor. He has become an expert at packing, unpacking, and organizing an entire kitchen. No kitchen is too small/big for him. I don’t know what we would do without his help.

Our good friend MarMar is another one of those invaluable assets to this move. She is the type of individual that doesn’t put a limit on time. These were her words, “I was ready to help until at least two in the morning if necessary.” Her expertise? Tetris! She packed a whole day’s worth of packed boxes into a Ford Explorer. I had not seen this done in any of my moves. She must have saved us at least two trips. We had to scavenge our place for more stuff to pack my car with because it was completely empty.

Now, how do we thank those who help us when we don’t have the money to pay them for their time? Family/friends will not expect money…at least they haven’t mentioned it or have declined it if it has been offered. Food and returned favors are always a good trade off. So, don’t be afraid to ask for help. This is the time when you lean on those close to you. Two people cannot do it alone, especially with a baby. Josh and I can’t.

Remember to be a good friend! You never know when you’ll need help.

Today is another day full of moving, but we are in much better shape today than yesterday. Things are looking up.

Cheers to great family, friends, and a new chapter in our lives.

securedownloadTry and have some fun when moving, too. It makes the move more memorable.

Leave a Reply

