Welcome to the beginning of a journey

Before I found out I was pregnant, the sacrament of baptism felt like a requirement to being a good parent. As a Catholic, a lot of the time, things are decided for you if you come from  a “good” Catholic family. Well, at least for about the first 16 years of your life. Your parents decide to induct you as part of a congregation, then to reconcile with your creator, take your first communion, and finally to make the decision of accepting being Catholic on your own even though they have already decided for you…a second time.

Before I go further, I must clarify what I mean by “good” – frequent church-goers.  May I also add that I dont think there is a such thing as “good” or “bad” Catholic people much less a family.

I have completed four of my sacraments: baptism, reconciliation, first communion, and confirmation.

Confirmation was the one event that inspired the beginning of my own faith journey. At first, I felt it as a requirement. I felt that my mother had made the decision for me, and in a sense she did, but things changed throughout the course of my two years in confirmation classes.

She signed me up for the classes at our parish, so I just did what I had to do – choose a sponsor, go to classes, go on a retreat, get confirmed. To my surprise, it was actually one of the best experiences I have lived through. I am very thankful to my mother for guiding me to find my own faith and not continue piggy-backing off of hers.

Now, having Little Nugget, those feelings I felt before I was pregnant have morphed into that of understanding. I feel like it is a requirement, but a different kind. This time I feel like I’ve made the decision because I want Little Nugget to experience the growth I did due to my involvement in my religion. Faith is unexplainable. You must feel it. I want him to learn and find it himself, with a little help from his parents.

Guidance.

What a beautiful thought! After 25 years of being guided, I get to start guiding. Now is my opportunity to pay it forward. I believe I am a decent human being who was taught well in knowing right from wrong. I am excited to aid my child to become an even better individual who will be a positive in this world.

And it essentially began from a baptism. New life.

Cheers to welcoming Little Nugget to the church.

Image

Compliments to Sara P. for the great photo!

P.S. An extremely warm thank you to our supportive family and friends. Sharing this moment with you made this day extremely special to my little family and me.

P.P.S. I am a very proud Big Nugget because of my well-behaved Little Nugget, and of how well Josh and I handled our DIY baptismal celebration. My next post will have how we hosted a successful almost-last-minute get-together.

4 thoughts on “Welcome to the beginning of a journey

  1. Amazing! I love your writing congratulations to your beautiful family! What a beautiful picture it seems staged it’s so perfect !

Leave a Reply

