If I ever had to ask for a sister, I would ask for you

Today is my sister’s birthday.  I feel inspired to write her a letter not only because today is her special day, but because she is a very important part of my life.

I think the saying goes, “Sisters by nature, friends by choice.”  Like every sibling relationship, we have had our moments where we didn’t enjoy each other, but I can safely say that the joyful moments outweigh the unhappy ones.

This is a letter to my only sister, the only sister I want because I wouldn’t want to share her with anyone else.

Dear Jelly,

Happy (insert number here)th birthday!!

I know it has been a while since I have written you a quality letter or made you a handmade card, so in this Technological Age, I wish to dedicate this post to you.  You are the sister and friend that has been present for me regardless of my actions or words.

We may be two completely different people, you like the long-sleeved and beautiful cardigans while I like the striped and funky-colored shirts.  Regardless of our differences, we share one commonality – our sisterly bond.  The bond that will help us mature into two vintage ladies sipping our drinks (coffee for you and tea for me) wearing big hats and talking about funny things at a cute boutique-y café on the corner of Ventura…or wherever we end up driving that day.

I look forward to celebrating many more birthdays with you, and seeing our children grow together just as we have and will continue to do so.  I look forward to the advice you will give me when I need it…or when I don’t.  You have been a vital part of my life, a rock in my sea of pebbles.

Thank you for being the calm while I endure a storm, my second mother, an amazing aunt to Little Nugget, a silly person, a faithful wife, a confidant, and one of my best friends. If I ever had to ask for a sister, I would ask for you.

May God bless you with many years of happiness, health, sanity, strength, support, wealth, and love.  There are many people in this world that need you and I am one of those people. You are the reason why I feel every woman should have a sister.

You ARE my favorite sister.

Thank you for 25 years of memories. Cheers to you and to many more years full of laughter, tears, advice, and memories.

Your little sister,

Jasmini

Image
Not the most flattering picture of us, but it shows us in true form.
This picture was taken almost 11 years ago!
Leave a Reply

