The best sunburn I have ever had

Currently, my skin color is the shade of shrimp. Actually, it’s a deeper hue of red. My forehead, nose, cheeks, chest, shoulders, arms, hands, thighs, and shins are all a deep red. To tell you the truth, I am not hurting one bit. It may be the feeling of fulfillment that is masking the pain. I’ll probably feel it tomorrow when I go back to work, when reality sets in.

Today, I realized how much I like to pretend that I am a stay-at-home mom. I used to feel guilty for not being at home “raising” Little Nugget (LN), for not being the first to see most, if not all, of his milestones. Now, fourteen months after returning to work from maternity leave, I can say that I am comfortable and at peace with being a full-time working mother. I have learned to see things as positives instead of allowing my guilt to eat me alive. I am blessed to have an employer that gives me plenty of paid time off, time off to enjoy my child on a weekday.

I’ve read enough blogs and Facebook statuses to know that being a full-time mom is not easy, but that doesn’t deter me from enjoying acting like one some times. Remember, we always want what we can’t/don’t have.

After an eventful morning of teeth brushing, potty training, breakfast making, laundry, and picking up, I decided to take Little Nugget (LN) on a four-hour adventure. Was it a good idea? Of course it was! I made sure to pack diapers, wipes (both for booties and hands), snacks, juice, and sunscreen for LN, oh and a bottle of water for me. Notice how there was no sunscreen for me. We walked from our home to a trail we found on Saturday’s run. Then, after hanging out there for a bit, we walked to the Balboa Park playground to hang out some more. And when I say “we walked” I really mean I walked while my child enjoyed the ride from the comfort of his stroller. I walked a total of about six miles today…all under the beautiful hot sun.

Walking home was a tad torturous because by the time I was ready to head home, it was two in the afternoon when the sun was nice and high. There was no shade anywhere! Luckily, I decided to pack a picnic blanket which I used to cover LN on the walk home. Thank God for that blanket! This was the walk that colored my skin a dark shrimp color.

Was it worth it? Heck yes!

I got to experience LN climb to an expert slide and ride it all on his own. I bruised my shin for forcing myself into the twirling tire at the park which was the first time LN rode it. We rode the swing so high together and I heard LN laugh the entire time. We found bamboo caves at the park together. I experienced LN’s undivided attention in the cutest possible way. I enjoyed LN’s giggles while he walked in sandals for the first time. I gave LN his first towel head wrap. I experienced LN close his room door, turn off the light, and put himself to sleep.

My sunburn was so worth it!

Image

IMG_4346

Image

 

Cheers to good days!

Leave a Reply

