The beginning

I’ve been in somewhat of a slump lately. I’ve lost my drive in regards to getting closer to completing my childbirth educator certification. I have a little more than 10 months to become certified and I seem to be moving slower than a snail moving through molasses to achieve it. I’ve been succeeding in becoming “better” in other areas of my life, but career-wise, I’ve been lazy.

During my nightly shower, I got a brilliant idea. (My observation stands true, the best ideas come to me when I bathe.) Well, the idea sounds brilliant to me. I think that with all of the positive change going on in my life, I’m going to continue the positivity and start addressing my needs. I now understand and accept that it is necessary to take care of myself in order to feel 100% happy with myself. This in turn will help me offer everyone around me nothing but strength, confidence, and joy.

So, what’s my brilliant idea?

I have always been a visual and hands-on learner. I was a good student in school, but I always had to work hard for the As because it was difficult for me to learn from a textbook. I enjoyed school because I could interact with others, and now I find that I learn more by talking to people than from a book. For those that know me personally, they will agree that I talk a lot. (Now that I’ve said it, I can’t act surprised when Little Nugget won’t stop talking.) So with my blog at my disposal, I’ve decided to use this little space of mine as a learning tool. I will be sharing notes, ideas, activities, exercises, whatever I want to remember and use in my career as a childbirth educator, then doula, then (one day) as a midwife. I want it to be the visual reminder I need to get me back on track and keep me there. I’ve also decided to begin a sense of accountability on my blog because now I am sharing my goals publicly. I have those of you that are so kind in showing support holding me accountable. I need that and appreciate you for being a part of this process.

So to the meat of my sandwich…

The following is a note from the present me to the possible-future-uninspired-me:

Hi.
Remember that moment during labor where the contractions started hurting really bad? Yeah, me neither. All I can remember are the candles around the birth tub. My body going from hot to cold to hot again. The frustration I felt because my body couldn’t stay at one temperature. I remember the calmness and confidence I felt during labor because I had been taken care of with respect and love, and because of the education that had prepared me for what was to come. I remember how Josh told me to listen to the song that was playing when Little Nugget was born. I remember having Little Nugget in my arms for the first time after all those months. I remember loving every second of the journey. I want to share that with everyone who is willing to listen. I want to be the light that Davie, Robyn, Robin, and Sue were to me. 

So do you. 

Don’t forget why you love all of this and it won’t forget about you. And don’t forget to say thank you to baby Jesus. 

Keep rockin’!

I will finish my course curriculum by the end of the year. I will become a certified childbirth educator on or before September 2015. I will be one step close to getting my butt into midwifery school! (Midwifery school isn’t for another few years, at least.)

Since I am talking about dreams and goals, I will have a water-proof whiteboard installed in the shower of our future-home. Hint hint, Universe. (Insert winky emoji here.)

Midwifery school, here I come!

One of our first pictures together.
One of our first pictures together. The beginning of Little Nugget Big Nugget.
Leave a Reply

