That time when…this rookie momma learned the difference between an inanimate object and her toddler.

Little Nugget has been potty trained for over two months now, but there are plenty of things that we are still learning in the potty department. I, for example, made a very rookie mistake and learned that a toddler should always be wiped down before anything else. “Well, duh!” is what you may be thinking, but I obviously didn’t think of this before learning my lesson.

Little Nugget has been such a champ with his potty going. He tells us when he has to go “poo poo” or “pee pee” (not to be confused with his “beep beep” car sounds). In this one instance, Little Nugget made it very clear that he had to go poo poo, so we scurried along to the bathroom, I set up his seat and sat him down. When he was done, I took him off of the toilet but noticed that he had gotten his seat wet. Being the rookie mom, I removed the seat and proceeded with wiping it down while leaving Little Nugget’s booty to fend for itself. I was so focused on sanitizing the seat that I had not noticed Little Nugget sitting down and waiting for me to finish. Well, the carpet he had sat on had begun what should have been my primary focus, wiping his booty down.

All I could do was laugh.

Note to self: wipe the very mobile toddler down before an inanimate object gets to him first. They just don’t do as good of a job as I can.

Because I'm a little obsessed with jumping pictures right now, and because we should never stop reaching for the sky.
Because I’m a little obsessed with jumping pictures right now, and because we should never stop reaching for the sky (even as parents).

Cheers to keeping a light heart!

Leave a Reply

