What path to take…

As another year comes to a close, I want to share a piece of “advice” with you.  Please don’t take this as an attempt to tell you how to live your life, rather how mine has become better because of it. My personal goals revolve around positive growth, humility, and compassion. If I am able to help at least one person with my words, I have fulfilled a goal. With that being said, remember those quizzes in youth magazines, the ones that have two or more outcomes? The ones that help you explore what kind of girlfriend/boyfriend you are, or what Disney character you resemble most? I loved those growing up. I enjoyed them because I liked seeing what the outcomes were depending on how I answered the questions. Same with the Goosebumps series where you could choose from alternate endings.  I enjoyed seeing what kind of trouble I’d get into or avoid. The reason I bring these up is because I recently remembered my appreciation for decision-making situations even if it’s as silly as deciding what Disney character I resemble most.  I guess you could say I had a little bit of an epiphany; I can apply this type of thinking to my life right now.

At times, I find it difficult to think positive because negativity tends to consume me. But, what makes me think that I can’t accept a “bad” situation as being good. Just as with the quizzes, I do have the option of deciding to take it in as a positive or a negative. Here’s a really simple example –

IMG_4913
I apologize that I’m not a graphic designer/artist to make this easier on your eye.

On the right side, I have closure and feel better about the situation that I find myself in. On the left, there’s an open-ended question that will consume my happy thoughts and spit out grumpy and ungrateful words and feelings to those who surround me. What I’m trying to say is, we can be happy. We can live happy…it just takes a little bit of thoughtful work.

I hope this way of thinking can help you personally, or maybe it helps you explain a more positive way of thinking to someone who really needs it. The more positivity we have roaming the world, the better off we will all be. Our world needs some good lovin’. Little by little, we can make a change. Everyone and everything has to start somewhere.

"Oh the smilers they never loose Oh and frowners they never win" - Jason Mraz
“Oh the smilers they never loose
Oh and frowners they never win”
– Jason Mraz

Cheers to positively bringing in the new year!

A sincere thank you to those who read and/or follow my blog. Thank you for allowing me to share a little piece of myself with you! Weirdmaste!

Leave a Reply

