Some of the reasons I love Little Nugget (2 yrs old)

Today, I took the day off to run an important errand. I took advantage of the extra time in my day to hang out with the little sunshine of my life, Little Nugget. It wasn’t much of an adventurous day as both of us have a pretty heavy chest cough and the sniffles, but we did make a short stop at one of our favorite places, Orcutt Ranch, and we had lunch with the “Dad Nugget”. Yes, I just called him that. (He doesn’t know…yet. Hehe.)

It has been a while since I’ve taken a day off to just hang out with Little Nugget, and today I just focused on soaking him all in. I realized how much he has grown. I know, I’m saying what every other parent says, but that’s because it’s true. Having kids is having a a constant reminder that time moves quickly. Blessed are those who see their children into old age. Old age! That means our children will get old too!

My apologies! I was going off into a sad tangent there, but I promise I mean it in the most beautiful way possible. That’s the only way I know how to describe some of the feelings and thoughts I get as a parent.

Anyways, the point of this post was actually to say that there are so many reasons I love Little Nugget. Duh! Obviously. I just want to remember as many as I can, and why not share his awesomeness?

I love Little Nugget because…

…he is loving.
Josh and I smother the heck out of Little Nugget. We know we most likely annoy him, but I think it’s “paying off” in some way because he doesn’t hesitate to show love to anyone or anything. He put Mr. Tea to bed, and I know he did it in the most gentle way possible. He has, on a few occasions, thanked me in the middle of crying because I was being a “mean” mom. (On one occasion, I made him wash his hands after going to the bathroom.::rolling my eyes::)

…he is a little chatter box.
Little Nugget can talk up a storm, especially if he’s trying to defend himself against our disciplining. If he’s not crying, he will validate his actions, and his explanations can get lengthy. They include shrugs, voice fluctuations, pointing, and questions.

…he will invite you to do everything with him.
His recent addition to his invites is coloring with him. He enjoys coloring books because he gets to color one side while someone else colors the other. “Cars?” This is his daily invitation to play cars with him. “She?” (See.) This one-word question is an important one for him because he invites you to see something with him and also (most likely) needs your assistance in seeing whatever it is he hears.

…he is a little sponge. (Which keeps me on my toes).
I enjoy seeing him mimic actions and repeat words. He reminds me to be the best me possible because of it. His “peas” (please) and  “bit yous” (thank you) are on point 85% of the time. If he asks for apple slices, he shows me how I am to cut the apple.  (He made me realize that I make a funny face when I cut apples.) He knows where or how to use a few bicycle tools and home appliances, and we know because we caught him using them.

…he likes photography.
Hmm, I wonder where his interest in this came from?? He has grabbed a shoe lace, dropped it in our bath tub, and photographed it. He has photographed a flying airplane, and it was actually a well composed picture. He enjoys seeing pictures as well as taking them. We bought him a V-Tech camera which he uses, and I love it. I think he’s going to have a creative eye.

He tried convincing me that he didn't know why he couldn't get on. Nice try Nugget.
He tried convincing me that he didn’t know why he couldn’t get on. Nice try Nugget.
Sometimes I get lucky with him actually wanting to have a picture taken.
Sometimes I get lucky with him actually wanting to have a picture taken.
Sniffles stink! Thank you baby Jesus for the Omnilife vitamin gel!
Sniffles stink! Thank you baby Jesus for the Omnilife vitamin gel which helps prevent his nose from becoming irritated or chapped.
Little Nugget telling me about how funny rocks are.
Little Nugget telling me about how funny rocks are.
I love this shot of him because it make him look small again.
I love this shot of him because it makes him look small again.
Reaching great heights.
Reaching great heights.

IMG_5410 IMG_5411

Josh named this one "Little Mountain Man." I think it's perfect.
Josh named this one “Little Mountain Man.” I think it’s perfect.
Self-titled #2.  Ilan.
Self-titled #2.
Ilan.

I don’t mind if this is what every Friday night will feel like for the rest of my life. I pray to always have this much love in my heart. So much love that I want to write and share it with people. To write beautiful words and help people feel the happiness and joy simple things can bring. I know raising children can be complicated with its highs and lows, but the amount of love that can come from how they excitedly call your name on a Saturday morning, or the way they hold your face to give you a kiss to make you forget that you were mad at them is like no other. Simple and memorable.

Cheers to simple and genuine love!

One thought on “Some of the reasons I love Little Nugget (2 yrs old)

Leave a Reply

