What is your sound?

Did you know that making sounds during labor, specifically active labor, is completely normal? I’m not talking about screams or shrieks but deeper more instinctual sounds. When I think instinctual sounds, I imagine a wild mother bear laboring in a cave out in the middle of nowhere.

Why not scream? Although screaming during labor is understandable, it’s simply more of a waste of energy than it is helpful to your laboring process. Labor is called labor for a reason. It’s hard work. For those women who have undergone labor, you know what I’m talking about; you know how much energy and emotion goes into this moment in your life. So, let me restate the previous, screaming during labor, as they do in movies or shows, wastes too much valuable energy. It wastes the energy you need to get through the contractions, or the energy you need to tell your partner to get out of your face and chew some gum to freshen up his/her breath. (No, this didn’t happen to me, but it did happen in a labor I observed.) The sounds you should allow yourself to make are very instinctual sounds that come naturally from your belly. Heavier “oohs” and “aahs”. No, there aren’t only two sounds to make during labor, just trust yourself and your body to find the right sound when the time comes. Trust yourself to find your special sound. Once you find it, let your sound soar through the room you’re laboring in. Let those sounds perplex your support team; it’ll leave them in awe of your strength as your special sound gets you through those marvelous contractions that are helping bring your baby down into your pelvis.

Don’t be embarrassed. You might already be completely nude anyways, and honestly, who has time to think about what others are thinking when you’re focused on ejecting that baby you’re so anxiously waiting to meet?

Your special sound may be rhythmic, it may not. It may be loud like a roaring lion, or it may be soft like a fluttering hummingbird. However and whatever it may be, it is part of your natural intuitive power that will help you birth your baby. Your special sound is part of the voice that your baby has heard since his/her beginning. Your special sound is completely natural, normal, and almost necessary to your wellbeing. Necessary to your sanity. It helps you keep your sanity while your body processes and acts on the fact that it’s bringing a human being earthside. I think it’s majestic, the fact that we as women can say we nurtured, grew, and labored (worked hard) to bring a little human with our blood, nutrients, and maybe our nose to this earth. Mind-blowing!

You can do it momma! You and so many other women are in it together, laboring together. You are not alone. Let those sounds travel from deep in your belly and out your mouth. Let your partner, midwife, doctor, doula know that you CAN do it. You ARE doing it!

I would share a picture that our GoPro caught from my labor, but because it was set up at the tail end of my labor, it only caught the end of me pushing. So, here's one of me 39 weeks pregnant. Need I explain why?
I would share a picture that our GoPro caught from my labor, but because it was set up at the tail end of my labor, it only caught the end of me pushing. So, here’s one of me 39 weeks pregnant. Need I explain why?

Cheers to trusting our instincts!

Leave a Reply

