That time when…you realize that you enjoy being surrounded by anything your child likes because it makes you smile.

I try to be neat and organized as I can’t handle too much chaos outside of my being due to the chaos that already exists in my head. However, recently I have found comfort in having Little Nugget’s toys scattered around town, and by “around town” I mean my car, my purse, on my side of the bed, or any of my personal spaces.

The realization came on the drive home from birth classes. For the last six Wednesdays, I was sitting in on a birth class series at Bini Birth (no I’m not pregnant). The classes would go into the evening, so I wouldn’t get home until around 10 pm. I wouldn’t get to see Little Nugget these days as he was asleep by the time I got home. Knowing that I wouldn’t see him at all on Wednesdays, I grew to appreciate the annoying Monster’s Inc toy that sits in my back seat and expresses his fear of going back to jail every bump my car takes (yes, this is one of his phrases). I just Googled this monster to see what his name is, apparently it’s Art. Art was pawned off on Little Nugget by my lovely sister who didn’t want this talkative creature hanging out at her house. (He doesn’t have an off button.) At first he was annoying, but now, his inability to see where we are (another one of Art’s phrases is, “Uhh, where are we?”) brings a smile to my face on those short but lonely drives home.

In addition to Art, Little Nugget was gifted an airport play set for Christmas. In this play set, there are a few plastic individuals who have migrated from our place to my car. Little Nugget calls these little people his “babies”. He will care for them on our drives, but then just tosses them aside when we’ve arrived at our destinations. One of his “babies” ended up in the front with me, and now he resides there, along with the parking ticket from our trip to Disneyland.

I find myself not only smiling but also reflecting on how our Little Nugget has completely changed my life for the better. I now appreciate toys in an entirely new way, a way I wouldn’t have known how to without Little Nugget.

Little Nugget's baby (one of the three that roam around in my car). I like him because he smiles, and he sits on top of a month old Disneyland parking ticket.
Little Nugget’s baby, well one of the three that roam around in my car. I like him because he smiles. He happliy sits on top of a month-old Disneyland parking ticket.
Mr. Art. This guy seriously won't shut up, but I've grown to appreciate him. He brings me laughter when Little Nugget isn't in the car with me.
Mr. Art. This guy seriously won’t shut up, but I’ve grown to appreciate him. He brings me laughter when Little Nugget isn’t in the car with me.

Cheers to keeping a light heart!

Leave a Reply

