Why I celebrate Father’s Day

Ever since I can remember, my mom always made sure we had something to gift our dad on Father’s Day. Still to this day, she will purchase items that she knows my dad either likes or needs and will sell them to us (“the kids”) to ensure that we have something for him. I never really thought about the impact this would have on my life, until now. Whether my mom knew it or not, she was teaching me how to honor my father even if it was only once a year. Of course, I do my best to honor him more than just once a year, but you get the point.

Now, my dad has always been in my life, he’s never missed an important event, he’s worked so hard for his family that his bones ache, and he’s a great grandfather, but my mom has been the emotional support (and much more) all of my life. She is the backbone of the family, and even my dad will tell you that she’s the cornerstone. However, this never interfered with my mom’s humility. She made sure that my dad got the love he deserved on Father’s Day. Lets be honest here, what father (however great or crappy they are) likes to be left out on the day where every father is acknowledged at the same time. Just like moms on Mother’s Day. No one. I strongly believe that.

Being a mother now, I see the impact my mom’s actions had on me as a parent. I consciously want to teach Little Nugget to honor his father because Josh deserves it. Josh may not be my father, but I need to make sure that Little Nugget respects this day and respects his father just as I’ve done my best to respect my dad. This all has also led to a deeper understanding of my everyday self. Through understanding this “holiday”, I’ve come to see how important it is for me to be cognizant of how I speak about/to Josh around Little Nugget, how I treat Josh around Little Nugget, and make sure to love Josh around Little Nugget. Of course, it’s important for me that Little Nugget knows that we aren’t perfect and that issues exists, but it’s equally as important to teach him that they can and how they can be resolved. I know I’m going off on a tangent now, so I’ll try to get back on track.

I felt this was important for me to share as it’s helped me grow a little bit stronger as a mother and a parent in general. Honestly, I hope this helps at least one other person see one more positive in their world just as I have.

Lastly, thank you papa for letting me be the one to push your limits and always loving me just the same, and thank you SO SO much Josh for making me a mother and for showing our Little Nugget all the love a father could possibly show his son.

My papa, the one who gave me my sense of humor, my love for music, and the one who has loved me endlessly.
My papa, the one who gave me my sense of humor, my love for music, and the one who has loved me endlessly.
Daddy and son then...
Daddy and son then…
Daddy and son now. Little Nugget has been so blessed with this daddy of his.
Daddy and son now. Little Nugget has been so blessed with this daddy of his.

Cheers to the amazing men that we celebrate today!

Leave a Reply

