Metro adventures

Our laptop has been acting funky, so I’ve recently spent some time backing up a laptop’s worth of media onto our external hard drive to see if we can fix our computer. In doing all this transferring, I’ve been looking through old pictures and realizing how many adventures I used to take Little Nugget on. At first it made me feel like I’ve been letting him down, failing him in a way. This negative emotion led to the lighting of a light bulb (the positives of a negative is that it can open doors when you least expect it)…I should probably take advantage of the fact that I only have one child and try to get in as many adventures as I can with him before the second one comes.

Red Line, Expo Line, Rose Garden, CA Science Center, Universal City Walk, Yogurtland, Orange Line, Panera Bread, Union Station, and Placita Olvera. That’s just two adventures, maybe $30 dollars, and two tired humans worth of happiness and memories made. Of course, best Big Nugget way to show you our fun is through pictures. I hope they make you smile.

First Metro adventure began at the beginning of the North Hollywood, CA Red Line subway station.
Our first Metro adventure began at the beginning of the North Hollywood Red Line subway station.
We began our travels with high spirits.
We began our travels with high spirits.
Stopped to visit a tightly packed CA Science Center. We like free admissions. =)
Stopped to visit a tightly packed CA Science Center. We like free admissions. =)
It had been about a year since I had brought Little Nugget here. Crazy to think he was too small then to do a lot of the activities they have available. Not that he did them this time. Well, he made an attempt at them. Can you say, short attention span?
It had been about a year since our last Science Center visit. Crazy to think he was too small then to do a lot of the activities they have available.  He somewhat made an attempt at them this time. Can you say, short attention span? He must be my kid.
What he can do for hours is run and chase pigeons, which I love watching him do.
He chased pigeons. (One of his favorite things to do.)
He explored.
He explored.
And was forced to take pictures.
He was forced to take pictures with me.
Explored some more.
Explored some more.
Practiced his escalator skills and let go of a few of his anxieties. (Grew a little bit more right before my eyes.)
Practiced his escalator skills and let go of a few of his anxieties. (Grew a little bit more right before my eyes.)
Took the Universal City Walk tram just because.
Took the Universal City Walk tram just because.
Was forced to take pictures with the creature in the back. (Literally, only shot I got.)
Was forced to take “pictures” with the creature in the back. (I only shot this got.)
Treated him to some froyo for taking ONE shot with King Kong. Ha!
Treated him to some froyo for taking ONE shot with King Kong.
And then headed home where we both napped into the evening...then couldn't sleep at night because of the super long nap.
And then headed home where we both napped into the evening…then couldn’t sleep at night.
On our second Metro adventure, I decided to stretch out our travels a little bit more. We started at the Balboa Orange Line station where Little Nugget got to practice his TAP scanning skills.
On our second Metro adventure, I decided to stretch out our travels. We started at the Balboa Orange Line station where Little Nugget got to practice his TAP card-scanning skills.
Again, we started our day with some determination.
Again, we started our day with determination in our eyes.
The determination was little much because it made us hungry. Arriving at North Hollywood, we shared some grub.
Our determination made us hungry. Arriving at North Hollywood, we shared some grub.
The onto our next destination...Union Station. Little Nugget didn't know what he was in for.
Then onto our next destination, Union Station. Little Nugget didn’t know what he was in for.
We pretty much spent most of our adventure time here. "People watching?", some asked. Nope.
We pretty much spent most of our adventure time here. “People watching?”, someone asked.
Running...
Nope. Running…
And train watching. We saw them come and go.
And most importantly, train watching. We saw them come and go.
We waited..and waited...and waited for some trains to depart, but they never did.
And we waited…and waited…and waited for some trains to depart, but they never did.
Which was completely alright with this kid because he got to enjoy the beauties of a real train.
Which was completely alright with Little Nugget because he got to enjoy the beauties of a real train.

IMG_3667

He was one happy Little Nugget.
He was one happy Little Nugget.
And I was one happy pregnant Big Nugget.
And I was one happy pregnant Big Nugget.

IMG_3679

IMG_3689
Little Nugget catching some air. Yup, it was a good day.
We enjoyed a paleta at Placita Olvera. (Both of our first time there.)
When I finally convinced Little Nugget to explore another area, we walked over to Olvera Street where we enjoyed a paleta.
IMG_3716
Our first time here.

IMG_3737

IMG_3738

IMG_3741
He was in train station heaven.

IMG_3747

IMG_3754
Got in trouble for this picture, so of course I have to include it. =)
IMG_3765
Practicing his map-reading skills.
IMG_3774
Taught him about subway safety.
IMG_3775
And then he passed out on my lap on the ride home. He was extremely confused when he woke up above ground. I was tempted to tell him that he had magical powers, but opted to tell him the truth…momma had carried his tired little body from the subway train to the bus and we were headed home.

Aside from having two great adventure-filled days with Little Nugget, I also made some random observations and mental notes to keep in mind:

    • Metro subway trains are one of the last places that I know of where people are more or less available to interact, unless their headphones are in, because there is no service and there are less phone distractions.
    • When using public transportation with a toddler and while pregnant, empty your bladders every chance you get.
    • Always have some cash available, even if it’s a few dollars. You never know when you may need it.
    • Travel with only what you need, the less the better. What we take on our adventures –
          • LN’s lunch backpack with :
            • Nalgene bottle filled with LN’s drink.
            • LN’s drinking cup.
            • An emergency change of clothes for LN.
            • Baby wipes
            • Snacks such as granola bars and crackers.
            • My wallet, my phone, a water bottle for myself, and my chapstick (I don’t travel anywhere without my chapstick).
          • And of course, my camera.

Lastly, I wanted to mention and recommend the following videos that encouraged me to venture out with Little Nugget.

Jennifer Senior – For parents, happiness is a very high bar
Gever Tulley – 5 dangerous things you should let your children do

I believe these two videos hold very valuable information for parents. A lot of the time, I feel like I don’t do enough for LN, like he’s missing out on so much because I’m either too tired or not around because I’m working. However, listening to these videos reassured me that I’m doing enough as his mother and he’s going to be just fine. For example, he’s going to grow up knowing how to utilize public transportation and how to appreciate nature (since we’re out on the trails often). I’ll be alright with him not being fluent in four languages or if he doesn’t know how to engineer a robot by the time he’s five. I think we all need to take a step back from social media platforms like Pinterest and Facebook and analyze what we are good at, passionate about, and focus on spending time educating our children on that. We can and should only have realistic expectations of ourselves. We’ll be superheroes in our childrens’ little eyes either way.

Cheers to being present for our children in the ways we know how!

3 thoughts on “Metro adventures

  1. Little Nugget is ridiculously adorable 😀 Also thank you for sharing posts about mommyhood – I love children and I really want to be a mommy soon-ish and its wonderful and uplifting to follow stories like these 😀

    1. You are the sweetest. Thank you for reading! Motherhood has been one of the best experiences of my life thus far and I love sharing it with those who care to hear about it.
      I’ll be rooting and praying for you as you get closer to your journey to motherhood. Sending lots of love!

Leave a Reply

