Xavier’s Lung Fund

Last night, I allowed my hormones to get the best of me. I had a bit of an anxiety attack followed by a bucket of loud tears for no apparent reason. I have been overworking my body without much rest. I tend to try to prove a point that I am resilient, but to who? No one other than myself. Which leads me to a dead end, and very exhausted. I went to sleep with what seemed like a head full of worries. Waking up to a new day, I was reminded that there are bigger worries in the world that do require the type of strength, endurance, emotion, and energy that endlessly have to be replenished on a daily basis. Worries that you pray and hope you and your family never ever have to undergo.

I know a family who is constantly fighting, and no, not the fighting that you’d imagine coming from siblings or an unhappily married couple. This mother and father fight daily for the health of their son, the sister for the happiness of her brother. A family that reminds you that every day together with your loved ones is a blessing. A family that stands united and inspires many.

Xavi is 12 years old and was born with…well, actually, I’m going to cheat a little bit and copy the following directly from Xavi’s GoFundMe page since his sister just couldn’t have said it any better:

“This is my brother Xavier, he’s 12 years old.

5335870_1437201409.6391_funddescription

If your were to run into him out in public you would never know there is anything wrong with him. To our family he’s your typical 12 year old boy. But the reality is he’s anything but average and ordinary.

5335870_1437201587.1769_funddescription

My brother has CF (Cystic Fibrosis). CF is a horrible genetic disease with no cure. CF causes an over build up of mucus to develop throughout his body, especially in his lungs and digestive system. It’s a disease that, unfortunately, doesn’t get better with age. As my brother has gotten older the countless lung infections have taken a toll on him.

5335870_1437200499.8973_funddescription

Last year my parents were introduced to the idea of a lung transplant. I’ll have to admit, I am terrified of the idea of my brother undergoing a lung transplant. But to be honest, the thought of my brother not being able to get a transplant scares me more.  As a teenager, I’m a bit limited on the resources to earn enough money to help, so I’ve decided to reach out to those we know for support. Our family is really big on prayer, so we’ll start there. Please, every time you take that first breath in the morning, say a little prayer for my brother. Here’s where it really get’s serious. I’ve seen countless moments, the stress my parents go through as they work so hard to provide for my brother and I. Hospital bills, doctors bills, and of course regular bills…they never stop. I would like to do my part, so here I am, asking you to consider contributing to Xavier’s Warriors Fund. We’d like to use this fund for the upcoming expenses that are to be expected from a lung transplant. We appreciate your support.”  

And in case this sister’s real and loving words weren’t enough, here is Xavi’s parent’s last update from the realities of the exploration of whether or not their son will be a lung transplant candidate (taken from their Facebook page):

“What a week it has been. There’s nothing that can ever prepare you for the news that your child needs a lung transplant. When we began our trip last Sunday we were uncertain of what to expect. After meeting the doctor and some of the transplant team on Monday many of our questions were answered. The highlight of our day on Monday was meeting Philip, a young CFer who received new lungs 9 months ago. He shared his experience with Xavi, showing off his scars and how it didn’t hurt as much as he thought it would. The best part, his lungs don’t have CF and they never will. It was no surprise to us when Xavi told us he was ready for his new lungs. The thought of new lungs gave him so much hope. The next two days were full of more information about the procedure. The shocker for us is the requirement to temporarily relocate to Houston (but that’s just temporary). There is so much to prepare for. Our final appointment on Wednesday was with the surgeon. He shared with us what to expect prior to the procedure and the procedure itself. He then shared the difficult reality, post procedure. New lungs do bring with them new hope and new life, but there is so much uncertainty. The surgeon shared that although they have a very high success rate for the procedure, the average duration post transplant is 5 years. To us that meant cutting Xavier’s life to 5 years. At that moment all Xavi could think was, they’re taking away my lungs. On our final day the doctor provided a summary of our visit. In short, Xavi is a great lung transplant candidate, but it is too early to transplant. What does this mean for Xavi? He will need to wait for his new lungs and continue to live, as he always has, with his CF lungs. Our Xavi is amazing. He still remains hopeful. His hope is that a cure for CF will be found. What he doesn’t know yet is the damage CF has caused his lungs can’t be repaired, not even with a cure. This is why our journey continues. Please continue to pray for our Xavi. We appreciate your continued prayers and support as we continue on this journey.”

So with a heart full of hope, prayers and gratitude, I ask that if you can help with prayers, positive vibes, shares, or monetary donations, please do so. May we all remember that their are families undergoing difficult situations like this and be reminded to be grateful and present for what we have.

Cheers to bringing together a community to help others in need!

6 thoughts on “Xavier’s Lung Fund

  1. Thank you for this heart warming and heart wrenching post. There wasn’t a link to make a donation.
    I’ll be praying for this family! I had a pretty significant surgery. The doc told me it would last 10 years, then it would have to be done again – risky! I’m now 15 years out and love to hike! So no limitations! I was also told I’d need a partial knee replacement by 2010. Now the doc says no more talk about it after I told him about my hikes. Only the Lord knows! I love my docs, but their wisdom is limited! Xavier is so young and a warrior, I know he’ll out live his docs!

    1. Thank you, thank you so so much! Any and all prayers are very much appreciated and welcomed. I will be praying for your health to continue to thrive as well.
      Your story is inspirational. You are so right when you said that a doctor’s wisdom is limited…that is why our faith is so so important! God works miracles when we allow him to and when we place our life in his hands. Sometimes it’s hard to let go of the control we think we have, but God is really good about reminding us that he’s got us taken care of. We just have to be willing to let him in.
      Xavier is indeed a strong boy and I have faith that God has bigger plans for him here on earth.
      IF you’d still like to make a donation (of course I won’t be offended if you don’t), the link to his go fund me page is http://www.gofundme.com/znfy6w.
      Thank you for your prayers and support! Sending love!

      1. Thank you for your prayers for my health-I’m so blessed I’ve survived this long-i had heart disease as a child and was told I could never “work out” as well! Starting around age 40, after starting around 18, I was told I had the heart of an athlete. Last Check up it’s still good! Whew!
        YES, I’ll make a donation for this precious warrior!

      2. Wow Debbie!! Good for you! It’s so refreshing to hear a success story straight from the survivor. It sounds like your health hasn’t made your life “easy”, but has definitely helped you appreciate it more. And look at you now!!
        Thank you so much for your donation! I know that Xavier and his family will appreciate it very much.

  2. It took me a while, but I finally made a contribution to Xavier’s lung fund and shared it on my personal website. I won’t share on Twitter anymore as I will then get “hit up” to make lots of donations to strangers…I need a personal connection and we do make lots of donations….

Leave a Reply

