Another New Year’s resolution dropped

In response to Blogging 101’s assignment of personalizing a blogging prompt, I chose to respond to the Pens and Pencils prompt:

“When was the last time you wrote something substantive — a letter, a story, a journal entry, etc. — by hand? Could you ever imagine returning to a pre-keyboard era?”

This could not be any more fitting to my life right now. Let me explain. My New Year’s resolution for 2015 was to write and send more mail. It was only April and I had already sent over 100 pieces of mail to friends and family. Believe it or not! It felt so good to get text messages from these recipients letting me know that they had received my mail. My goal was to deliver a piece of written joy to them, as I know how happy I get when I receive mail that’s not credit card promotions or statements that require prompt payment. I even began penpalling with a college friend that lives in Texas. Life in this sense felt so good. I had never felt so accomplished when it came to a New Year’s resolution. Then…

Life started happening. Like always, I’d take on one hobby and drop another. I’d drop an art project because I’d remember that Little Nugget needs quality time with me. Then, I’d fall short on being mommy because I’d feel inspired to cook for my better half who also requires some tender love and care. Then, I’d fall off of cooking because our home and laundry needed some attention. And, there went days away from writing. The days turned into weeks, weeks turned into months. At the moment, it’s been months since I’ve completed and sent out a written piece of mail. It’s been months since I’ve handwritten in Little Nugget’s journal, and I barely have one entry in Zion’s journal.

Like my snail mail and handwritten journaling, I’ve also left too many friends and family “hanging”. I had a post-it up with a list of people I had promised to make plans with. I’ve only met with one of those people. One! I dislike the feeling I get when I check in with these listed people. I hate having an apology for them every time. They say they understand, but are they only saying that to be cordial? I don’t ever take it personal when someone doesn’t make more of an attempt to set plans with me, so I’m hoping that they don’t take it personal either because God knows it’s nothing against them. I’m just trying to make time for my priorities, and that in itself takes so. much. time!

I hope to finish that letter I started writing at the beginning of July before my friend makes it out to California in October.

To end this on a positive note, this prompt has sparked some inspiration to get back to hand-writing some quality stuff for some quality people. Maybe I haven’t “dropped” my New Year’s resolution after all. Maybe it was just on hold.

Cheers to handwritten treasures!

A few of my numerous journals waiting to be completed
A few of my numerous journals waiting to be completed
Leave a Reply

