That time when…you encounter a fellow momma that might have just been your next best friend.

After being locked up in our apartment all day Saturday making sure that Little Nugget didn’t break out in another allergic reaction, we decided to go on our usual Sunday family outing. Our usual Sunday family outing includes a trip to a people-ridden Costco and any other store of our choice, usually to enjoy samples and for groceries. After our visit to Costco, we stopped by Target to pick up a new pack of big boy undies for Little Nugget and other items we needed. On our way to the check-out line, a little boy a few months younger than Little Nugget ran in front of our cart. We stopped inches away from running him over. His mom? She was in line waiting with a newborn in a stroller, but still keeping a watchful eye on her child. She yelled at her son to come back to arm’s reach and apologized to us. Josh and I apologized back and soon we found ourselves in a battle of the apologies. We chose to get in line behind her where I told her, “I completely get it!” That’s all I had to say because we all understood what it’s like to be a parent. We all laughed about the situation.

This sweet but realistic momma finished checking out and stayed a minute to ask me when I was due and if this was our last child. I replied with a long-but-more-sure-than-anything “maaaaybe” squinting my eyes, and she replied with, “Oh, ’cause this is my last!” She sweetly laughed, said good luck, good bye, and pushed her newborn with her toddler in hand out of the store. As she left, all I could think was, “Wait, don’t leave! Can I have your number?” (A dramatic scene of me extending my hand out for her and me falling to the ground playing in my head.)

Josh and I laughed at my need for more momma-friends that connect with me on that level.

Her sense of humor was contagious and left me wanting a longer conversation with her. Who knows, we might bump into each other again.

MjAxMy0wNDU3NTQ2NjEyZTUzMmEw
Cheers to keeping a light heart!

2 thoughts on “That time when…you encounter a fellow momma that might have just been your next best friend.

Leave a Reply

