Some advice to “Hook” you in

Lately, we’ve been allowing Little Nugget to watch a copious amount of television (in my opinion). Although I try that the shows he watches be for the most part educational like WordWorld, Super Why!, or Monster Math Squad, I still feel like his little brain should only be allowed to watch a couple of hours a week. (He goes well beyond a couple of hours a week.) I can assure you that I grew up watching more television than Little Nugget and I came out alright, so why do I feel so guilty? Anyways, last night, while actually sitting and watching a movie with Little Nugget, I had a realization. We were watching the movie Hook, and the following was said by Caroline Goodall who plays Moira Banning, Peter Pan’s wife:

“Your children love you. They want to play with you. How long do you think that lasts? Soon Jack may not even want you to come to his games. We have a few special years with our children when they’re the ones that want us around. After that, you’re going to be running after them for a bit of attention. So fast, Peter. It’s a few years, then it’s over. And you are not being careful. And you’re missing that.”

Let that sink in.

It was almost like a slap in the face for me. Here I am worried about how much television we’re letting our son watch, but I don’t bother to sit and watch it with him. I noticed that he is more likely to sit, watch, and enjoy it (or sit and do anything at that) when I do it with him. Moira’s words rang like a meaningful reminder that my heart needed. I need to stop worrying about what I’m allowing my child do and instead do things with him. “WITH” has since become a big part of the way I interact with Little Nugget. I need to remember that the years where Little Nugget will want me around are short. I need to remember that no one should matter as much as my children when I decide to give them my time. I need to be present for them completely.

Cheers to our parenting light bulb receiving a spark of wisdom!

Image taken from www.agentsofguard.com.
Image taken from http://www.agentsofguard.com.
6 thoughts on “Some advice to “Hook” you in

  1. Reblogged this on I care, U care and commented:
    This post really wakes me up! My little girl has been asking me to play with her. But my answer has always been..”Wait! I’m busy now!” She’ll replied sadly, “You are never free!”

    Thanks for the wake up call, Big Nugget 🙂

  2. Oops! I’m So Sorry, I’ve forgotten to seek your permission to reblog your post. Your post is a very good wake up call to all parents, especially me, so can’t help but to share it. Is it alright with you?

    1. You’re so sweet. No, no need for permission. You are so welcome to any of my posts at any time. Thank you though. This goes to show how us mommas have to stick together, lift each other up, and have each other’s back because we are not alone on this journey. Sending love and positive vibes!! 💛💛

Leave a Reply

