The melody

There’s a melody that plays in my head.
I think it’s coming from my womb.

There’s a melody that I hum when I stretch my tired pregnant muscles.
I think it’s coming from my head.

There’s a melody that I feel my growing baby dance to as I lay down to rest for the night.
I think it’s coming from the muscles that are stretching as she grows.

There’s a melody that I hear in my dreams. So beautiful. So familiar.
I think it’s coming from my growing baby.

There’s a melody that continuosly beats with my pounding heart.  So comforting. So relaxing.
I don’t want it to fade.

Our day has come. The day where we finally get to meet.
My baby girl and I are working so hard.
Dancing, sweating, swaying, humming.
I recognize the melody we hum together, the melody we’re dancing to.
It’s the melody that rang so clearly in my ears, that vibrated through my muscles, that bounced from the walls of my womb.
There’s a melody that I’m laboring to, and it’s a song that has and continues to bring me strength and comfort.

There’s a melody in my head.
I don’t want it to fade.

 

PhotoGrid_1442377174164

6 thoughts on “The melody

Leave a Reply

