Why ICEA?

acquia_marina_logo

With less than three months left before my certification completion deadline, I have to get my little booty studying. In reality, I only have less than two months because I’m trying to take my exam before Zion is born, so here goes an attempt at using my blog space to help me study while providing information to those who are interested in learning about pregnancy and postpartum.

Choosing to undergo the certification program through the International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) was simple. ICEA was my first and only choice at the time I decided to try childbirth education. The teacher who taught the childbirth series Josh and I took when we were pregnant with Little Nugget was ICEA trained. Josh and I were 100% satisfied with everything we learned from the classes we took with Robin Gruver that I felt ICEA was the place for me. (It wasn’t until after I had signed up with ICEA that I learned that there are numerous other programs out there that offer similar certifications.)

Who is ICEA? ICEA is an association that trains and supports:

– childbirth educators
– prenatal and postpartum fitness educators
– birth and postpartum doulas
– certified health coaches

ICEA is true to its mission,

“The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) is a professional organization that supports educators and other health care providers who believe in freedom to make decisions based on knowledge of alternatives in family-centered maternity and newborn care.” (ICEA)

ICEA is made up of strong believers in the birth of a baby representing the birth of a family. They promote family-centered maternity care which recognizes the importance of the relationship the mother giving birth has with those providing her care, support, and love. These people surrounding the mother are also important and count as part of the process of bringing new life to the world. This community of people are respected through the mother, offered the same information as the mother, and incorporated as far as the mother wishes. ICEA’s ultimate goal is to have the best possible health outcome for all members as individuals and also as a group. The best possible health outcome includes mental, physical, and emotional health, and through knowledge and respect this can be achieved. Everything taught through the information provided is expressed as an attitude rather than being recited as a protocol. Lastly, ICEA sees birth as a ceremony, appreciates its importance, respects the mother’s individuality and ability to make her own decisions, requires that all relevant information be available to her, and guides her through pregnancy and labor rather than directing her through it.

Within the last two years of being an ICEA member and working on my childbirth educator certification, I’ve experienced nothing but support from the staff at their headquarters and others who have been teaching as ICEA educators for years, and have even found some mentors willing to provide advice to a beginner like me. I was worried that being a full-time working mom would make it difficult to complete my certification, but the staff has been understanding and helpful providing options and tips on how to reach my certification goals.

I am confident in who I’ve chosen to certify me, I am comfortable with the freedom it allows me to teach with, and I am blessed to have the support that I need behind me to reach some stars.

Cheers to ICEA!

If you have any questions, comments, or corrections on anything I wrote above, please feel free to comment below or contact me via email. 

3 thoughts on “Why ICEA?

Leave a Reply

