Theory of love

Remember when I “came back” after mailing my childbirth exam? I hadn’t had time to post on my blog for a couple of weeks because I was studying, but I had not stopped writing, so I have a backlog of posts. You’ll notice that some of the upcoming posts are a bit “outdated” such as this one that mentions me watching a Christmas movie…in mid-January? Nope, I’m just playing catch up.


Zion and I were home alone. Josh and Little Nugget were off on a little adventure to Grandma’s house. It was an unintentional girls-night-in and boys-night-out. Our first one, and the first of many.

With Zion asleep on the couch next to me curled up in her blanket, I watched a Netflix original called “A Very Murray Christmas” with Bill Murray as the main character. I won’t go into detail about the plot of the movie as that is not my intention for this post. My intention is to document something that Bill Murray said in the movie that I wanted to remember, and I found it was something positive to share. I think that it is something that could help us all when we find ourselves angry, frustrated, or confused with our partners. Our partners, the ones we are to love through thick and thin.

The following dialogue was taken from the movie. The scene had a group of people who found themselves snowed in a hotel. The group of people included a young couple who was supposed to be getting married that night, but things didn’t work out and they found themselves angry at each other. Bill Murray offered some advice to the couple –

Young bride: Okay, now tell me your theory of love.
Bill Murray: Well, it’s really more of a philosophy.
Young bride: Whatever.
Bill Murray: Try to remember the specific moment…the exact second when you knew that you were really in love. Not a time or a date or a trip. But the instant that you knew for sure you were in love.
Young groom: And then what?
Bill Murray: And then sing about it.
Young bride: To you?
Bill Murray: To each other. 

I love singing, but I’m pretty sure Josh doesn’t want to hear my off-tune singing, especially when we’re frustrated at each other. Of course, Murray’s advice can be interpreted differently, but what I got from it is that difficult times will always arise in any relationship. What we should always try to remember and keep fresh in our mind is why we love that person, why we are with them, how they make our life better. Keeping these reasons at the forefront of the relationship will bring comfort to a person questioning their love for their partner.

How do you interpret Murray’s advice?

Cheers to finding positive messages in today’s media!

Leave a Reply

