SheaMoisture -Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Oil Baby Healing Lotion

**The following is my personal opinion. SheaMoisture is not paying me for this review.**

Product description/details:
This review is on SheaMoisture’s Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Oil Baby Healing Lotion. This lotion is from one of the four baby collections offered by SheaMoisture (to view all the collections, click here). As the name states, the lotion is made of shea butter which moisturizes and helps repair skin, chamomile whose properties help relieve red and irritated skin, and argan oil whose high vitamin E helps keep skin soft. The lotion’s packaging states that it is safe to be used daily after baths, when the baby needs some moisturizing, and/or to give your baby a massage.

Who are they (the company)?
SheaMoisture stemmed from a grandmother’s hard work. Sofi Tucker, the grandmother, began selling Shea Nuts in Bonthe, Sierra Leone (a country in West Africa) in 1912. She is described as a young “widowed mother of four” selling her homemade body care products all over the countryside. Sofi’s grandchildren began SheaMoisture as a tribute to her.

You can read about SheaMoisture’s story here.

According to their website and packaging, SheaMoisture does not use:

  • Parabens – compounds used as preservatives in cosmetic products
  • Phthalates – man-made chemicals that are primarily used in plastics where they produce plasticity and flexibility (Source – Tox Town)
  • Paraffins – a flammable, waxy substance made of a hydrocarbon mixture obtained by distilling petroleum or shale (Source – Mirriam-Webster.com)
  • Propylene Glycol – “a form of mineral oil, an alcohol produced by fermentation of yeast and carbohydrates” (Source – Naturalnews.com)
  • DEA – “diethanolamine and DEA compounds are used to make cosmetics creamy or sudsy. DEA also acts as a pH adjuster, counteracting the acidity of other ingredients.” (Source – DavidSuzuki.org)
  • Gluten
  • Mineral Oils
  • Synthetic Fragrances
  • Synthetic Colors
  • Sulfates
  • And does not test on animals

Why use them (the company)?
Because I only have experience with their Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Oil Baby Healing Lotion, I can only speak about the company in regards to this product. I’d recommend purchasing from this company if you like ultra fragrant lotions that are made of certified organic materials and exclude ingredients like the ones listed in the “Who are they (the company)?” section above. I’d also recommend purchasing from this company if you prefer to buy your products in-store and not online as SheaMoisture products can easily be found in your local chain grocery store.

How did I hear about them (the company)?
I was gifted the body lotion when I was pregnant with Zion, my second child. I had seen SheaMoisture products while shopping for bathing products for Little Nugget, my first-born, but had never purchased from this company.

How often do I use this product?
Before applying the lotion on either one of my children, I used it for a few days to try it on my skin. I had no allergic reaction to it, but my skin is not sensitive when it comes to skin products.

Although the lotion states that it is made for babies, I preferred to use it on my three-year-old son knowing that his skin has not been sensitive to lotions. My son does, however, get dry patches on his skin. I apply this lotion on his body after his daily shower.

I have not applied the lotion on my two-month-old daughter because of its potent scent.

Product pros:

  • The lotion is thick, layering the skin with moisturizing lotion.
  • The lotion is made of organic materials and exclude ingredients like the ones listed in the “Who are they (the company)?” section above.

Product cons:

  • The lotion temporarily moisturizes the skin, but needs to be constantly reapplied for consistent moisturizing. (I do not recommend this product for people looking for a solution to dry skin problems.)
  • The lotion’s packaging is frustrating because of how thick the lotion is. It is difficult for the pump to eject lotion because of its consistency.
  • I like a lotion to be fragrant, but the scent on this lotion is too strong for my taste. The scent is soft and enjoyable once the skin absorbs the lotion and the scent subsides, which can be up to a couple of hours after application.

Suggestions for the product (if any):
SheaMoisture needs to formulate a way for the lotion not to amass around the pump as the pump becomes obsolete once the lotion from the center has been used. I would suggest packaging the lotion in a squeeze tube or screw-top container like a jar.

Company contact/website:
SheaMoisture doesn’t provide an email address on their website, but they do have a contact form on their Contact Us page and a phone number, 631-842-8800.

Where can you purchase this company’s products?
SheaMoisture products can be purchased at large store chains such as Vons, Ralphs, Walgreens, CVS, and Target. To locate a retailer near you, click here to search via SheaMoisture’s store locator.

Do you have any feedback?
Do you have any comments, questions, or concerns about what I wrote above? Please feel free to comment below or email me directly at jasmini88@yahoo.com. I would love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “SheaMoisture -Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Oil Baby Healing Lotion

  1. Everything about this is accurate. My son has sensitive skin so I actually can’t use this on him. He’s 21mo. The first time I used it on him, he was 5mo and he broke out. Though I like the ingredients, I think this lotion has TOO many ingredients. I feel that is what can be contributing to the break out my toddler would get when I used it on him. I use it on myself now. I like the thickness of the lotion, but it is a pain to use with the pump. I noticed at *my* target that they switched from the pump bottle to a tube. Which eliminates the pump issue but even then I felt like I couldn’t get everything out of the tube. To make sure none went to waste, I had to cut the tube when I was close to finished with it. So…not that great of a solution either. They just need to make the consistency a little thinner.

    1. Oh no! How long did the breakout last, and what did you “treat it” with (if anything)? I agree with your feedback. I’m one to try and use every last bit of lotions and toothpaste, so the packaging is extremely frustrating. Thank you for taking the time to read my review and give feedback!! I appreciate you. 😊

Leave a Reply

