That time when…your kid asks you for a song you’ve never heard about.

Little Nugget asked for “The Good Night Song” as I laid him down for the night. I was stumped. I had no idea what song this was, so how was I going to sing it? A list of questions emerged in my head.

What if I sing it incorrectly? Will he cry? Will he not go to bed?

Let’s be honest, toddlers must have it their way or it’s the highway. 

I decided to get creative with the request and fabricate a song. Yes, I decided to take a chance. When I sang it, I mean, made it up, it was like Little Nugget had heard the song a hundred times before.

“Ilan close your eyes
Go to sleep
Sleep with the angels
Sleep with Papa Dios
Have good dreams”

The lyrics flowed out of my mouth, and the best part was that the song satisfied Little Nugget’s need for “The Good Night Song”. (Thank God!) The lyrics were simply instructions for him.

The tune changes nightly as I don’t remember what tune I used the night before. I’m sure a tune will stick if this becomes a nightly ritual.

20160121_232209
Am I the only {creepy} mom that takes pictures of her sleeping children?

Cheers to keeping a light heart!

2 thoughts on “That time when…your kid asks you for a song you’ve never heard about.

  1. What a beautiful little Angel you have (and no it’s not creepy, I took photos when mine were little too😊)! I think he only cares about hearing his mama’s voice no matter what the song!

    1. Thank you for confirming that I’m not creepy. 😉 And thank you for that last part of your comment. I’ve never thought of it that way. It changes my thoughts. When I feel frustrated that he won’t go to sleep, I’ll have sweeter thoughts from now on because of your insight. =)

Leave a Reply

