Intentions

I appreciate the balance I’m learning by setting my intentions every morning. I was introduced to intention-setting at an Empowered Birth Project event I attended in February. The lovely Jana Roemer led the postpartum yoga exercises at this event. My life was changed after she emphasized the importance of leading an intention-filled life, but I wasn’t yet fully aware of the huge part this practice would play in my life. I was not aware that the universe had chosen to enhance my life through the practice of intentional living at exactly the right moment. All I knew was that my heart was open and thirsting for the balance that these simple heartfelt statements could bring.

I have taken on the practice of intentional living by focusing my attitude and lifestyle on no more than two or three intentions a month, setting them on a new moon (more about new moons and their gravitational pull on me in another post). I don’t know if my practice is traditional or unconventional, but it’s been working for me. Setting only two to three intentions to focus on makes it realistic for me to reach my goals. I strive for a positive lifestyle transformation—even if it’s slow—instead of an immediate change that will result in me finding myself right back where I started. It would be like trying a diet and losing weight, but only gaining the weight back as soon as I stop the diet. My mind, body, and soul are ready for a more permanent transition.

My current intentions set on the new moon that just passed are:

  • I am a patient and loving mother raising conscious children.
  • I commit to loving and accepting my husband for all that he is instead of disliking him for all that he is not.

I repeat these statements (intentions) at least three to four times a day. I make it a point to affirm the truth in these intentions especially when I am not being patient, loving, or accepting. They have been a great source of motivation to stay on track.

My intentions from February and March were a tremendous help in learning the following about balance in my life –

  • Balance lesson no. 1: It’s more than alright to allow my children to get bored. I do not need to entertain them 24 hours a day. In understanding and practicing this, I’ve noticed Little Nugget’s imagination expand, and Zion enjoy more of her surroundings.
Giving Little Nugget alone time (and helping him learn to appreciate it) has resulted in this. The first time I came out from the kitchen to see why he was so quiet made me so proud. I found him practicing  his letter-writing skills.
Giving Little Nugget alone time (and helping him learn to appreciate it) has helped him acquire skills I couldn’t have forced on him. I was shocked the first time I came out from the kitchen to see why he was so quiet. I found him practicing his letter-writing skills on his own. I was so proud!
  • Balance lesson no. 2: I understand that it is important to speak to Zion the same way I speak to Little Nugget when it comes to giving each of them necessary time. Necessary in the sense of—for example—having to put Zion down to brush Little Nugget’s teeth, and stop playing with Little Nugget to change Zion’s diaper. I believe this will help Little Nugget not feel left out or set aside, and help Zion learn the importance of her brother’s time as well.
Z Nugget catching me as I peek at her through her crib's bumper. I love observing my children while they explore their surroundings on their own.
Z Nugget catching me as I peek at her through her crib’s bumper. I love observing my children while they explore their surroundings on their own. Zion – 19 weeks.
  • Balance lesson no. 3: It’s important and perfectly alright to think of and treat myself too. Buying myself things (within my means) that will make me happy doesn’t make me selfish. I deserve to treat myself for bomb diggity behavior.
20160414_135448.jpg
One of my favorite body lotions. The scent of this specific lotion transports me back to 2006-2007 when I was living in Santa Barbara for school. It brings back memories of Josh and I during our first years together, and it reminds me of the time where I began learning about myself. Treating myself with little things like this reminds me that I need some R&R too.
  • Balance lesson no. 4: My social media hiatus helped me give the appropriate amount of attention to who and what most deserves it and needs it…my family. Being away from everyone else’s life made me truly appreciate my own without having anyone else’s to compare it to. I love the friendships I’ve made and the glimpses into everyone’s life, but being away helped me see how beautiful mine is (naturally), and how even more beautiful it is when I take it for what it is and not try to glamorize it with the backdrop of a different life.
It's blurry, but I love it. These three people fill my life with love, joy, and purpose.
It’s blurry, but I love it (specifically because of Zion’s face). These three people fill my life with love, joy, and purpose. Zion – 20 weeks.

Life is good, especially when I live it with purpose. I am excited for the new lifestyle I am working towards.

Cheers to good intentions!

Leave a Reply

