20 Mule Team Borax

**The following is my personal opinion. 20 Mule Team is not paying me for this review.**

Product description/details:
This review is on 20 Mule Team Borax. I’ve had this post in mind for some time now. The reason it took me so long to put it together was because I didn’t know how to communicate my deep appreciation for this naturally occurring compound. (I obviously decided on doing it as a review.) Yes, you heard right. I am reviewing a compound that you can find deposited somewhere in a seasonal lake.

Who are they (the company)?
The company that makes the most popular (in my opinion) borax on the market is 20 Mule Team. I don’t know much about this company other than borax is the only product it sells. I also noticed on the website that 20 Mule Team is part of the Dial Corporation, which is now the Henkel Corporation.

(They do have the company’s history on the website if you’d like to read more about it.)

Why use them (the company)?
Although I don’t know much about the actual company, I’d still recommend using the borax they sell because I am 110% satisfied with their product. I also appreciate that they provide informational content for potential, new, and existing customers on their product and website. Their website has a designated “Uses” section where they have short videos showing you the many uses of borax.

How did I hear about them (the company)?
I heard about 20 Mule Team from the first box of borax that we bought about four years ago. We were led to borax when we found out we were pregnant with Little Nugget.

In finding out we were going to have a baby, Josh and I—pretty much instantly—decided to ditch all of our toxic household cleaners and switch to greener/safer cleaners. (Babies will do that to you.) We started with our laundry detergent; we began making our own. One of the ingredients in the detergent was borax.

It wasn’t until a couple years after we started making our own detergent that I paid attention to the 20 Mule Team Borax box. The packaging itself is an informational packet. Reading the entire box inspired me to begin using borax to clean things that were difficult to clean with solutions like vinegar and water.

How often do I use this product?
I use borax to clean on a weekly basis. Alright alright, I’ll be honest. I wish I had time to deep clean on a weekly basis. (On a good week, I will.) I use the borax when I deep clean. What I love about using borax is that it doesn’t seem like I’m “deep” cleaning at all. I found that using borax doesn’t require so much elbow grease and I’m talking about cleaning my stovetop, bathroom and kitchen sinks, glass shower doors, bath tub, and toilet bowl. All the places that get greasy, slimy, and just plain yucky. If you’re a parent, I’m sure you know about the cooking oils and hard water grime and other things that aren’t necessary for me to mention.

To make sure I answered the question…I’ve been using borax on a biweekly basis for four years now.

Product pros:

  • Borax is a natural mineral that is not toxic. (However, it should still be kept away from children, and first aid is still required/recommended if borax makes contact with eyes or if it is ingested.)
  • It cleans the hardest grime with very little elbow grease (in comparison to other household cleaners).
  • A box of borax lasts me about a year. I’ve bought four boxes in four years. A little bit of borax goes a long way.
  • I appreciate that it easily dissolves in water and that it works on its own. I love that I can just pull out the box, pour, and clean.
  • I also love that it works instantly. I know that in their bathroom cleaner video, 20 Mule Team instructs the watcher to leave the toilet bowl soaking for 30 minutes, but I always just pour the borax on the surface I’m cleaning—or a sponge—and scrub away.
  • Borax is inexpensive! You can buy a box of borax for under $4.
  • Because its use is so versatile and it cleans so many things, we don’t have to have multiple cleaners. We save space by using borax.

Product cons:

  • The only thing I have to complain about is the box. I wish the opening of the box could be closed after being opened.

Suggestions for the product (if any):
My only suggestion would be for the 20 Mule Team to improve the opening of the packaging. The perforated flap that has to be pressed in to open the box sometimes gets stuck inside making it difficult for the borax to come out, especially when the borax clumps up in sizes bigger than the opening.

Company contact/website:
In clicking the “contact us” link on the 20 Mule Team website, it sent me to Henkel North America’s website. I did a general search to find information on Henkel’s website regarding 20 Mule Team Borax, but nothing came up. The only thing I could find was a phone number for “laundry products”—800-457-8739. In addition to the phone number, they also have a contact form that you can fill out and submit on their page.

Where can you purchase this company’s products?
You can purchase 20 Mule Team Borax at any large chain store like Target, Walmart, Rite Aid, Walgreens, and Ace Hardware.

Do you have any feedback?
Do you have any comments, questions, or concerns about what I wrote above? Please feel free to comment below or email me directly at jasmini88@yahoo.com. I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

