Calling “stay-at-home” moms

As some of you may know, I have decided to officially stay at home with my Nuggets—the cost of childcare was a luxury that we cannot afford at the moment.

I’ve been home with the Nuggets for about a week and I’ve realized what a privilege it was to have them watched by someone else. It was a privilege because while they were under someone else’s care I could keep our apartment tidy, schedule to do things at whatever time, do whatever I wanted, and just be me without having to be mom. As with all good things, this too had to come to an end. I can say that I’m at peace with myself knowing that I made the most of my alone time while it lasted.

As one good thing comes to an end, space is made for another to begin. Now that I can officially label myself as a “stay-at-home” mom, I’ve realized what a privilege it is to be my Nuggets’ primary caregiver…other than only on weeknights and weekends. I think I actually consider it an even bigger blessing to be home with them. I know that to some moms, it may be a no-brainer; if they could they’d stay home. However, I’ve known both types of moms—the ones that are career-driven and the ones that can’t see themselves ever working after children. Neither type is better or worse than the other. It simply comes down to what works for the mom and her family.

At the beginning of motherhood, I thought that the only thing I wanted was to stay home with Little Nugget. Then, my thoughts evolved to, “I don’t think I’d be a good stay-at-home mom,” which led to where I am now. The ebbs and flows of life, I tell you!

I’m cognizant of the fact that it takes a village to raise children, so here is my cry for help. Scratch that, I’m not crying, I just need feedback, suggestions, and support from moms who have experience with this aspect of motherhood. I’m learning to navigate this new, and somewhat unexpected, chapter of my life, and I don’t want to do it alone. I know that I don’t have to do it alone.

Although it’s a lot of work to watch my own kids, I appreciate almost every second of it. I say almost every second because well, it’s not easy at all. It’s hard. It’s hard to get anything done, whether it be housework or work that pays. Yes, I’m still attempting to work in between feeding picky eaters and negotiating nap time, which brings me to the point of this post. Stay-at-home and work-at-home moms, how do you manage your time? What helps you feel the most successful while home with your children? I need ideas, inspiration, motivation, and support.

I’m not complaining in any way. I feel absolutely grateful for this opportunity and the path I’ve journeyed on to get to this point. However, I want to hear about other’s experiences so that I can learn. Remember, when we share our experiences, we can learn from each other.

Thank you all for your support!

Cheers to having each other’s back!

 

For the audio version of this post, click below.

14 thoughts on “Calling “stay-at-home” moms

  1. I was one of those “career” moms-I never thought I could be organized enough to stay home! My niece and her cousin are stay at home mom’s so let me see if they can share their experiences! I will say now that I’m watching my daughter work full time with a 3 yr old and a one year old, staying home would be a huge blessing! But sadly she takes after me. All I can say is go for it! Embrace each day and find a Mom’s group!

    1. Debbie, thank you so much for your support and feedback! In my opinion it’s not “sad” that your daughter takes after you. I believe it’s a beautiful thing when women are career-driven. I don’t consider it in any way a downfall. I feel somewhat career-driven too, but God had other plans for me. This isn’t to say that my career will be placed on the back burner, I just have to organize myself better. I appreciate you and your light. Sending you and your family love!!

  2. Being a sahm is a huge privilege but wow, it can be super exhausting at the end of the day, and I only have one little man atm. When I first became a sahm when my boy was just over 1, the days felt like they were all the same, and that can make you go insane a little.
    My tip would definitely be to have a planner! You’d be surprised what home duties can fill your day but split them up during the week so your on top of them but not takin huge chunks of your day or energy doing it in one lot! Also, make sure you get out of the house atleast twice a week, and not for groceries. Air is amazing, but the kids will love you for it too (and they sleep better).. It gives you a break from the norm. Definitely join a mummy group too, it’s so good to have a whinge every now and then with like minded women who get it! Hehe
    I think being a sahm can honestly be more challenging than most jobs because it is 24/7 and you stay in the same place.. but do find time for you! I hope the kiddies give you a breather every now and then.. enjoy every moment!!! xxx

    1. Emily, I am so grateful for you feedback, advice, and support!! This is the exact reason why I appreciate the power of social media and the internet! Support is at our fingertips, all we have to do is ask for it. Your tips were extremely helpful. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. Sending you and your family love and light. ❤

  3. I love being a stay at home mom. I too know both sides and yes being a SAHM has its negatives and positives. Watching my little ones reach milestones made me think how I can’t let someone else do this for me. Great read.

    1. I appreciate your feedback! I completely agree with you on watching my little ones reach milestones. There’s nothing like being the first to witness them! Thank you again. Sending you love and light…and patience. 😊💖

  4. Find some mommy and me groups just to get you out of the house and interacting with other adults. I left my nursing career to be a SAHM and 10 years later here I am. I decided to work from home just so I could be there for my daughter. Stay connected with facebook and blogging and cherish nap time. I used to be so tired when my daughter was napping but I needed me time so I had to force myself to stay awake just to enjoy the peacefulness. Also, don’t stress the mess!

Leave a Reply

