That time when…your son learns about pads.

I was home alone with my Nuggets. I knew it was going to be a late work day for Josh (shameless plugin: I am grateful for how hard he works for us) so I bathed the Nuggets as soon as we got home. As the Nuggets and I were in our vanity area getting dressed, the closet door was open and Little Nugget saw a bag of pads  — as in the feminine hygiene product — and asked, “Mom, what are those?”

I will admit that I love when Little Nugget asks questions because I see it as a door being opened for me to influence his learning, and it is satisfying for me to know that I am one of the biggest influences in his life. I don’t take my role as educator lightly and do my best to provide Little Nugget with the most accurate information while keeping his age in mind.

The conversation that followed from Little Nugget’s question went like this …

Me: “Those are pads, papa.” 

LN: “What are pads?”

Me: “Pads are things women use.” 

LN: “Why do women use them for?” (I love the way he constructs his sentences. I’m going to miss correcting his grammar.)

Me: “Women use them once a month when their uteruses bleed.”

LN: “Oh! So you used pads when Zion was born?” (I love seeing his light bulb turn on.)

Me: “Yes, papa, I actually did use pads when Zion was born. You have a good memory and that was a great observation.”

The conversation was short yet informative enough to satisfy Little Nugget’s need to know more. At least, I can only think it was satisfying for him because Little Nugget put the pads back where he got them from and continued on with his evening.

It was difficult to restrain myself from making a big deal about the conversation, but I knew that celebrating the conversation within myself (and now on my blog) would be best to keep the normalcy intact, especially because of what he learned about.

These are some of the moments that make me the proudest. Little Nugget’s curiosity helps fulfill my want and need to equip my children with information, lessons, and experiences that will help make them conscious beings. I am looking forward to the questions Little Nugget will ask as he becomes older, and I am also up for the challenge as I know they will not all be as easy as describing what pads are.

Cheers to keeping a light heart!

20160111_195436
Image by Little Nugget. He has taken many images like this and not because I’ve asked. I believe that he captures these moments because he has a deeper connection to them. He may only be four, but he’s already demonstrated a great  understanding for what nurturing is and its importance in our lives. Or maybe it’s just me being a mom and thinking he’s super special. (Don’t we all think that of our children?)
Leave a Reply

