Feeding Black Cherry

I made the decision to begin tracking my cycles using the Fertility Awareness Method and have been doing so since late February. I began my fourth chart yesterday, in other words, I started my fourth period while charting. I haven’t noticed any trends yet, but I know that it may take many charts before I understand my cycle or even get the hang of the differences between sticky, creamy, eggwhite, and watery cervical fluid, for example.

Amid all this learning about my menstrual cycle and how it relates to my body, I became very interested in the properties of menstrual blood fluid. (I read the more accurate term is “fluid” since it “contains some blood, as well as cervical mucus, vaginal secretions, and endometrial tissue.”)

My interest in menstrual fluid subconsciously began when I met Jana Roemer at an Empowered Birth Project event I attended with Z Nugget over a year ago. Jana had shared that she poured her menstrual fluid in one of her plants. I found that amazing at the time, but never looked into it. Well, now I’m more than just looking into it. I decided to experiment with a tomato plant—her name is “Black Cherry”. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to buy two plants to have something to compare the menstrual-fluid-fertilized plant to, but that’s the process of experimentation. I know what to do different next time.

Before I forget to tell you what it is that I’m doing in my experiment…

I am collecting my menstrual fluid during my period. I use a menstrual cup (The Diva Cup), which makes the collecting easy. I store my fluid in a mason jar and refrigerate it until I’m done with my period. I then dilute the fluid with water (10:1 ratio) and hydrate my plant with my nutritious food. So far, I’ve only fertilized my plant once. Again, I unfortunately don’t have anything to compare my plant to, so my data is only perception. According to me, my plant had a growth spurt within two days after being fed.

Writing about this is making me realize I need to begin documenting data, otherwise it’s all speculation.

I won’t get into the details of how menstrual fluid serves as plant fertilizer in this post, but I’ll be sure to write about it later.

Through the help of this post, I transmit that I am no longer ashamed of bleeding every month. I look forward to it knowing that Black Cherry will have food to eat.

Big Nugget

 

What is your perspective on what I shared? I’m interested in what you think. 

IMG_8567 - Version 2
The first time I fertilized Black Cherry the Black Cherry Tomato plant. April 2017.
6 thoughts on “Feeding Black Cherry

    1. Hahaha! You and so many women in my circle. Just imagine my husband! I’ve totally lost my filter for this stuff, and my husband has had to adjust to it all. I’m so happy that he doesn’t oppress me for it. 😜

Leave a Reply

